Close this search box.

Briefly in the News: March 2024

Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs Dr. Sandra Hamar, Vice President for Enrollment Management and Marketing Dixie Williams, First Lady Lee Terry Russell, President Dr. David Russell, Senior Executive Assistant Mary Brown and Chief Human Resources Officer Patty Fischer.

Dr. David and Lee Terry Russell named Citizens of the Year by Mid-Missouri Chapter of the Military Officers Association of America

Columbia College President Dr. David Russell and First Lady Lee Terry Russell were honored as Co-Citizens of the Year by the General Omar N. Bradley Mid-Missouri Chapter of the Military Officers Association of America (MOAA). The award is presented to recipients who have exemplified the highest standards of service as past or present members of the Armed Forces or by serving the military community.

“Lee and David are unique in American higher education with the rich military backgrounds and perspectives they bring to their roles as the first couple of Columbia College,” said Bill Boston, secretary of the Mid-Missouri MOAA chapter. “Working as a team, their commitment and service to the community and our nation is second to none.” 

Before entering higher education administration, Dr. Russell completed a twenty-two-year Army career, retiring with the rank of lieutenant colonel. He served two combat tours in Vietnam. His military decorations include the Purple Heart, the Bronze Star, Legion of Merit, the Meritorious Service Medal, and the Combat Infantryman’s Badge.

As the daughter of an Air Force officer, Lee Terry Russell was what was commonly referred to as a “military brat.” She became a child of the world as she moved with her family to many parts of the United States, as well as the Middle East, Japan, and several islands in the Pacific. While married to Air Force fighter pilot and Vietnam War veteran Jay Terry, she supported him through many more moves for both accompanied and unaccompanied duty tours.

Historical Society of Missouri Announces 2024 Fellowship Awards

The State Historical Society of Missouri awarded Center for Missouri Studies fellowships to two history scholars in 2024.

Jenna Lyons, a visiting assistant professor at Grand Valley State University in Allendale, Michigan, has won a fellowship award for her proposed study, “‘Dear Mr. President’: Bertha Bless, the Missouri Press Club, and the National Federation of Press Women.” John W. McKerley, adjunct assistant professor of history and human rights at the University of Iowa, has been awarded a fellowship for his proposal, “Liberalism, Black Politics, and the Origins of the Great Railroad Strike of 1877 in Missouri.”

Each fellowship award includes a $5,000 stipend. The fellowship offers an opportunity to write an article for publication in the Missouri Historical Review, a scholarly journal published by the State Historical Society since 1906. Center for Missouri Studies fellows are also invited to make a public presentation of their work.

Veterans United Foundation Empowers City Garden School with $15,000 Grant for Middle School Expansion

Veterans United Foundation (VUF) has awarded City Garden School a $15,000 grant to support the expansion of their middle school this academic year.

The grant has been instrumental in enhancing the learning environment for students by enabling the acquisition of essential resources, including new tables, chairs, lockers, science materials, lab tables, chemistry materials, math materials, Spanish language materials, class sets of books, art supplies, and movement and games learning materials. The funds have been strategically allocated to address various aspects of the learning experience, ensuring that students have access to a well-equipped and dynamic environment that stimulates their curiosity and passion for learning.

From STEAM to language arts, the grant has touched upon diverse facets of education at City Garden School.

Big Tree Medical Branches Out to Partner with Independent Pharmacies and Expand Affordable Health Care Access

Big Tree Medical, a leading direct primary care provider based in Missouri, is proud to announce its expansion initiative aimed at partnering with independent pharmacies nationwide.

The expansion strategy involves collaboration with independent pharmacies and providers in cities across the U.S. By establishing partnerships, Big Tree Medical aims to aid in the sustainability and growth of these pharmacies, preserving their role in providing personalized and community-centric health care services.

“Our mission at Big Tree Medical has always been to make quality health care accessible to everyone. We believe that by joining forces with independent pharmacies, we can enhance the overall healthcare experience for individuals while simultaneously supporting the backbone of local communities,” said Jen Wheeler, co-founder and COO of Big Tree Medical.

Through the partnerships, Big Tree Medical will support the clinics to offer a range of benefits to both patients and pharmacies. Patients will have access to affordable direct primary care services, while pharmacies will receive the additional support they need. 

Columbia College’s Robert W. Plaster School of Business attains accreditation

More than twenty academic degree programs and certificates offered by the Columbia College Robert W. Plaster School of Business have achieved full accreditation from the Baccalaureate/Graduate Degree Board of Commissioners of the Accreditation Council for Business Schools and Programs (ACBSP).

“Business Administration is our largest and most popular program,” said Columbia College President Dr. David Russell. “Our business offerings have a well-deserved reputation for academic excellence and foster professional readiness, integrity, and holistic education that is consistent with the rigorous standards of the ACBSP. Our faculty members provide transformative learning experiences that empower future business leaders to thrive in a dynamic global landscape.”

The ACBSP is a global business education accrediting body and the first organization to offer accreditation to all levels of collegiate business degree programs from associate to doctoral. ACBSP bases its accreditation process on the Baldrige Education Criteria for Performance Excellence. By evaluating aspects of leadership, strategic planning, relationships with stakeholders, quality of academic programs, faculty credentials, and educational support, ACBSP assesses whether business programs offer a rigorous educational experience and display a commitment to continuous improvement. CBT

Subscribe to our newsletter

Don’t miss the most interesting places to go, events to attend, restaurants to try, and ideas for living the best COMO lifestyle.

Popular Stories